Major laws for the conduct of elections to the National and Provincial Assemblies are the Representation of the People Act, 1976 and the Representation of the People (Conduct of Election) Rules, 1977.

Election to the Senate (Upper House) is held according to the relevant legal provisions contained in the Senate (Election) Act, 1975, the Senate (Members from Federal Capital) Order, 1985 and 1988 and the Senate (Election) Rules, 1975.

The Electoral Rolls Act, 1974 and the Electoral Rolls Rules, 1974 deal with preparation, annual revision, amendment and maintenance of the lists of voters.

The constituencies of the National and Provincial Assemblies are demarcated in accordance with the provisions of the Delimitation of Constituencies Act, 1974.

The procedure for election to the office of the President is contained in the Second Schedule to the Constitution read with the Presidential Election Rules, 1988.

Elections to the general seats of the National and the Provincial Assemblies are held on the basis of first-past-the-post system. However, elections to the seats reserved for women and technocrats will be on a party list system.

Election to the Senate of Pakistan is conducted on the basis of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote.


Accessibility Tools
Increase Font

Decrease Font

High Contrast

Negative Contrast

Light Background

Links Underline


Readable Fonts